Sailing Reviews

special sailing discounts, deals and pricesSailing Karma - Island Sailing class reviews and testimonials....

Reviews are most helpful when authentic, unbiased, straightforward and honest.  Our student reviews are submitted to and independently verified by NauticEd upon course completion to ensure that the review is reliable. For more info, see NauticEd Reviews »

4.2 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Lisa L. on 8/23/2018

Appreciate your class. Learned a lot.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Jacob R. on 8/23/2018

Alan threw all kinds of interesting scenarios at us!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Roy L. on 8/23/2018

We were weathered out a scheduled day. A.J. went out of his way to find a substitute date that would work while we were in the area. Outstanding!

4.4 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Lisa L. on 8/23/2018

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Michelle J. on 8/23/2018

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Benjamin G. on 8/22/2018

4.8 / 5 rating: Qualified Crew with Capt. Frankland
By Anita M. on 8/21/2018

Very patient and great instuctor

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Anita M. on 8/21/2018

Great instructor. Very patient and willing to help me learn at my pace

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Janet H. on 8/21/2018

AJ covered everything required in the course and I had the opportunity to put all the newly learned skills into practice. I finished the second day of the class feeling more confident than I had expected. Having said that, I definitely need some more time

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Benjamin G. on 8/21/2018

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Laurell H. on 8/20/2018

Amazing instructor!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Russell K. on 8/20/2018

The class was great. Alan did an amazing job getting us all to not just perform sailing tasks but think about why we were doing them. Learning about sailing is my first goal, not just getting a certificate. Alan made that happen.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Christopher B. on 8/20/2018

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Cindy B. on 8/19/2018

Stephan is a fantastic instructor and very kind in how he corrected us as we learned. I would recommend him to anyone wanting to learn to sail or sail better. Thank youso much!!

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Salinas
By Larry L. on 8/14/2018

Excellent class!

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By William B. on 8/12/2018

I learned a lot from Alan during the Skipper small keel boat classes, the spinnaker clinics and the several evenings I sailed with him on board Zap. Island sailing is lucky to have him at the helm.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Spencer
By Mark A. on 8/10/2018

Dave is a very knowledge and patient instructor. He did a very good job of teaching at the various levels required to meet the needs of all of the students.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Salinas
By Ben P. on 8/10/2018

Great instruction. John was flexible in his style which really helped me on a 42ft yacht. He was patient and keen to give both depth and breadth of experience. I would definitely be comfortable with a smaller sailing boat now. I would highly recommend him

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Salinas
By Jeffrey W. on 8/9/2018

John was friendly, patient and really great by just being nice and it inspired me to get the most out of the weekend. I HIGHLY recommend him for this course.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Ximing S. on 8/8/2018

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Roy
By Chris B. on 8/7/2018

3.6 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Nicholas B. on 8/6/2018

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Roy
By Brent B. on 8/4/2018

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Jeremy P. on 7/29/2018

4.6 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Mary W. on 7/29/2018

Wonderful experience. Great instructor. Very passionate and knowledgable. My only suggestion is to create a moment to digest information being presented and allow for questions before moving on to new teachings. I heard bookmark that question many times

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Kathy R. on 7/26/2018

AJ was great. I need more practice and have eagerly signed up for the next step. I love it!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Powning
By Suzanne F. on 7/22/2018

Nate was patient, so knowlegable and professional. We spent more time learning on the boat and it all came together.

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Luken U. on 7/22/2018

Stephen is one of the most relaxed, nice, and informative instructirs I've had for anything

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Salinas
By Philip F. on 7/20/2018

Valuable and enjoyable experience while on the S/V Althea. John is knowledgeable, a good teacher and coach.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Rosemary M. on 7/16/2018

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Jon W. on 7/11/2018

AJ had a great approach of teaching us while letting us feel relaxed and learn. Had a great two days!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Svetlana W. on 7/8/2018

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Powning
By Mark J. on 7/3/2018

Nat was excellent in all areas. He took the time to explain maneuvers, gave good feedback, was willing to listen to sometimes repetitive questions, and was willing to admit when he forgot to tell us something or didn’t communicate the entire situation.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Powning
By Kalina L. on 7/2/2018

Nat is everything you hope your instructor will be: friendly, patient, knowledgeable, and passionate about sailing.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Powning
By Jimmy S. on 7/2/2018

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Russell K. on 6/30/2018

Stephen was patient with the group and very clear about what he wanted us to know. A bonus came from the fact that we all had a great time while learning.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Scott H. on 6/25/2018

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Spencer
By Scott H. on 6/25/2018

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Spencer
By Kelly A. on 6/24/2018

I thought Dave was great and really worked at my pace--challenging me but not overwhelming me! Thank you!!!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Mike N. on 6/24/2018

Stephan was an excellent instructor. He explained each maneuver orally and visually. He guided us by letting us do the maneuvers ourselves and giving us pointers all the way through. Thereby giving us the true feel of each maneuver but being close enough

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Mike L. on 6/23/2018

We were fortunate in that the others in our group didn’t show up. Alan really gave us serious practical instruction/experience that I feel I can use successfully. Great teacher and I’d recommend him for anyone learning how to sail.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Thomas T. on 6/20/2018

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Shelley H. on 6/18/2018

Stephen is a great instructor. I'd prefer a course that takes place with more days on the boat with an instructor to develop a depth of competency.

5 / 5 rating: Qualified Crew with Capt. Frankland
By Chu T. on 6/17/2018

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Powning
By Katie B. on 6/15/2018

Really great enthusiasm & professional, knowledgeable instruction!

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Christopher D. on 6/11/2018

Alan did a fabulous job. Very thorough, and explains content well. I've recommended a number of others to him since those classes. (I would have given him 25 stars out of 25 but that would have left no room for improvement).

3.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Jim S. on 6/11/2018

Alan was great until we ran aground. This happened 3 times during out 2 days of lessons. In stead of remaining calm and leading us out of this non-emergent problem he resorted to unhelpful yelling at us, providing us with poor direction, and basically cre

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Michael R. on 6/10/2018

I am very appreciative of my time with Stephan. He has the heart of a teacher and genuinely wanted to insure we had a great experience and left competent to sail on our own with a love of the activity. Beyond his professionalism and teaching approach I am

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By John B. on 6/10/2018

Stephen has a deep sailing knowledge and is so willing to share it with others. His passion for sailing is evident through his generous gift of time and dedication to teaching. Stephan was objective in his assessments of our understanding, confidence and

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Tanya T. on 6/2/2018

I couldn’t say enough! What a great experience with such a great instructor!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By James T. on 5/29/2018

I felt very satified with Stephens teaching and instructing. He showed great patients and had a deep knowledge of sailing.

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Brannan
By Alan S. on 5/25/2018

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Steven M. on 5/23/2018

As to the last 2 questions above: I'm not familiar with that assessment. He may have used it in our evaluation, so the answer could be Yes. - We didn't have much wind to work with and a truer answer the the last question would be a blend of Yes and Somewh

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Powning
By Janelle T. on 5/22/2018

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Powning
By Amber D. on 5/21/2018

Nat was an excellent instructor. He assessed our starting skills and abilities well and was able to adjust to our different learning styles. Nat was incredibly patient and calm - making for a very relaxed but safe learning environment. He did a great job

5 / 5 rating: SLC Assessment with Capt. Frankland
By steven M. on 5/18/2018

Captain Stephen made a day long testing (SLC) on an incredible amount of material fun and informative. I highly recommend Stephen Frankland for any level of your sailing education or needs.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Owen S. on 5/15/2018

Stephen is an excellent instructor. I would definitely take more courses with him.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Powning
By Adua B. on 5/13/2018

Besides being knowledgeable and very kind with our mistakes, Nat has a lot of patient and the right ways to teach. It was a fantastic class!

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Jeffrey W. on 5/6/2018

I personally need more experience but I'm working on that now and joined Island sailing club this spring. Alan's great!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Richard M. on 5/4/2018

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Mark N. on 5/3/2018

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Kyle B. on 5/3/2018

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Salinas
By Authur W. on 5/2/2018

Great trip.

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Salinas
By Christian B. on 5/2/2018

I spent three highly instructive and enjoyable days with John and his wife out in the San Juan Islands. Great learning experience!

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Salinas
By Justin R. on 5/1/2018

John and Kathleen were great hosts and fantastic teachers. Crusing the San Juan's was better than I could have anticipated.

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Salinas
By Calden C. on 4/30/2018

John and Kathleen are probably the nicest people on boats in the San Juans, if not anywhere. Thanks so much for the great trip and the great instruction!

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Salinas
By Justin R. on 4/30/2018

John and Kathleen were great hosts and fantastic teachers. Crusing the San Juan's was better than I could have anticipated.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Alexei L. on 4/20/2018

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Mark C. on 3/22/2018

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Mark N. on 3/15/2018

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Wayne M. on 3/15/2018

This was a great class. I feel confident in sailing on our own in at least basic conditions. Alan took the time that was needed to make sure we understood each facet of the class, and also stayed afterward to offer advice for our specific questions and si

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Powning
By Micheal P. on 3/14/2018

5 / 5 rating: Qualified Crew with Capt. Faling
By Kristina H. on 3/12/2018

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Kim V. on 3/7/2018

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Faling
By Ryland B. on 2/19/2018

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Authur W. on 2/13/2018

Alan was a great instructor. The only reason I marked somewhat competent is that I need to practice more so it becomes more natural.

4.4 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Calden C. on 2/12/2018

Alan is great fun in the boat and full of handy hints to make sailing easier, safer and more fun (less re-coiling of lines!). Thanks!

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Somervell
By Bruce F. on 2/12/2018

Top drawer instructor. Island Sailing should be very proud to have him representing them and NauticEd as well

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Garrett U. on 1/29/2018

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Powning
By Calden C. on 1/28/2018

Nice work Nat!

4.4 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Joshua J. on 1/27/2018

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Frankland
By Kelley D. on 1/23/2018

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Viet H. on 1/18/2018

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Faling
By Tammie K. on 1/12/2018

I’m off to a good start!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Sarah H. on 12/30/2017

Stephan is an excellent instructor. He is very knowledgeable and gave us lots of tips he has gathered from years of experience sailing. I would take love to take additional courses from him.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Erica M. on 12/29/2017

Not sure what is intended about the Y/N survey question about the National Standard Rubrics assessment methodology, so for the sake of rating the instructor, I replied yes as I believe he made good effort to cover the all of the material required. Also,

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Vaileios X. on 12/27/2017

4.6 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Faling
By Jason W. on 11/25/2017

Bruce was incredibly knowledgable!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Faling
By Dixie J. on 11/24/2017

Bruce made the course challenging, informative yet fun!!!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Jeffrey B. on 11/15/2017

Keep up the great work Alan.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Jeff B. on 11/14/2017

Great sailing experience with you for the weekend. I'll recommend it for anybody. Happy sailing and Goodwill to you and yours Alan

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Justin R. on 11/13/2017

Alan is a fantastic teacher with wide knowledge and a willingness to share.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Sofia-Cristina V. on 11/12/2017

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Somervell
By Micheal M. on 11/2/2017

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Faling
By Clinton K. on 10/29/2017

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Somervell
By David C. on 10/23/2017

A truly dedicated sailor! Thank you Alan!

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Faling
By Peter C. on 10/3/2017

Had a great weekend with Bruce (re)learning to sail. The boats were a little small for 4 students and an instructor. 3 students would have been better but I understand the economics.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Wesley A. on 10/1/2017

4.6 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Janet H. on 9/22/2017

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Jacob L. on 9/18/2017

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Somervell
By Birgit K. on 9/17/2017

Alan enjoys teaching and has an incredible knowledge base. He set a good pace and a good tone-- let's just try this and see what happens. We spent a couple of hours docking in a tight marina with 12 knots of wind in the marina. He had the patience to le

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Mark T. on 9/17/2017

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Salinas
By Matthew M. on 9/16/2017

John was a great teacher who gave me confidence in my abilities and made me feel right at home on the water.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Tom F. on 9/11/2017

Excellent instructor, provides the background and reason why something is done the best way and easiest way.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Oren T. on 9/9/2017

Stephen was not just a great teacher, he really was concerned that each student understood and was competent in executing each of the skills required for the class. It was obvious within the first hour that this class was about practical application, and

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Sumeet S. on 9/9/2017

Stephen was very thorough and knowledgable. He knew the ins and outs of the local area and obviously sailing in general. Best of all, he knew how to transfer that knowledge and teach it. I came in with zero knowledge of sailing and learned enough to be co

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Arthur W. on 9/8/2017

Stephan was very good at Do you need a visual on that? showing what he had done. We also went through a lot of drills which I had not done before which I probably should have like heaving to. I have done it before but not as a drill or a learning exerci

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Alice M. on 9/3/2017

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Shawna M. on 9/2/2017

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Justen M. on 8/27/2017

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Donovan M. on 8/20/2017

Not only was he super professional, but had all the tricks of a true sailor

4.6 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Timothy D. on 8/19/2017

Alan was a great instructor who's clearly very knowledgeable about sailing. He was able to adjust his teaching style to best suit each of the four people on our boat, not an easy task. I'll take another class from him anytime.

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Salinas
By james B. on 8/17/2017

Awesome instructor and a great cruise.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Jon B. on 8/16/2017

Stephen is outstanding ! Very knowledgeable and loves what he does. I am so fortunate to have him as my instructor.

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Andrew N. on 8/16/2017

I would take future lessons from AJ in a heartbeat. He is knowledgeable and communicates his knowledge well. He puts his students at ease in an environment where there is alot of knowledge and skill that needs to be acquired in a relatively short period o

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Colin B. on 8/13/2017

Alan is a great resource for the sailing community and he is a fantastic instructor. I had a great time in class and I feel like I learned a great deal.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Frankland
By Kelley D. on 8/11/2017

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Powning
By Walter P. on 8/7/2017

Very patient and easy to work with. Explained everything he was trying to accomplish with the crew completely. Pleasure to work with him.

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Salinas
By Clint V. on 8/3/2017

John and Kathleen were phenomenal- very knowledgeable as well as both patient and accommodating. A great trip!

4.8 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Salinas
By Phil F. on 7/30/2017

John and co-instructor Kathleen were exactly the role models that I needed for captains of sailing excursions. They made good decisions, but better yet they patiently and wisely handled leadership issues that kept the cruise safe and enjoyable for all c

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Terri B. on 7/30/2017

AJ was an excellent instructor! He provided just the right amount of coaching at just the right time. As students, we each got appropriate practice with the various aspects of basic sailing which built our confidence fairly quickly.

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Salinas
By Gary V. on 7/23/2017

Great time and fun!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Mark W. on 7/22/2017

4.6 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Laura K. on 7/20/2017

Really enjoyed the class. Thank you!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Brent B. on 7/19/2017

Fantastic instruction and depth of knowledge. Stephen was informative and reassuring.

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Jessica Kyle B. on 7/19/2017

Stephen was excellent. He was able to clearly articulate the concepts we were reviewing, answer questions with in depth answers, provide practical skills, and demonstrate how to calmly assess and respond to a variety of situations on the water. i would lo

4.6 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Cahen
By Mandy H. on 7/15/2017

Darroch is a great teacher: patient and observant. He allows students to learn with lots of hands on experience and giving them the appropriate berth to make mistakes and to learn.

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Larry S. on 7/10/2017

Great instructor. Very experienced and will challenge you to think and make decisions instead of just running through the routines. Great learning experience overall with emphasis on practical sailing skills....

4.4 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Brian C. on 7/10/2017

More time discussing the specifics of a maneuver or exercise would help alleviate moments of confusion and distress...even going over some of the terminology/slang used to make commands would help ensure that the entire crew is on the same page. Overall,

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Jonathon P. on 7/9/2017

4.6 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Dale C. on 7/9/2017

4.6 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Travis E. on 7/1/2017

Sometimes I have difficulty understanding the concepts but it they become clearer after I had an opportunity to practice them. Thanks for your patients and sharing your knowledge.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Tom T. on 6/29/2017

well done, thank you!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Cahen
By Juanita B. on 6/25/2017

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Cahen
By Keenan B. on 6/25/2017

Darroch was a great instructor! Very knowledgeable and fun to sail with. Really challenged me to put into practice, what I learned via study. Thanks dude....I look forward to sailing with you again!

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Faling
By Rodney H. on 6/22/2017

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By J. Keith B. on 6/14/2017

AJ did a great job, really enjoyed the time with him. He let us learn, had us doing the work, and coached us well. The only suggestion I would have for improvement is to teach more of how to get the boat prepped from the time we walk on the dock. There WE

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Salinas
By John D. on 6/13/2017

A great teacher. Maybe because he was in the educational field as his profession. He had a great manner at putting you at ease. His instructions were also very clear. His wife was great at teaching and helping also. They made the learning experience great

4.6 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By John B. on 6/11/2017

4.6 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Diana H. on 6/8/2017

I had a great time learning to sail with Island Sailing. I feel able to to sail in many situations because the conditions of my learning were difficult. After all was said and done, sailing in other places will be easy. My goal is Crew and I will stick

3.6 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Brian C. on 6/5/2017

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Ashley H. on 6/2/2017

Stephen is the best instructor I have ever had. His ability to teach to many different levels of learning and ability spoke volumes. When you learn to sail Stephen is the man to teach you.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Cahen
By Darin C. on 5/29/2017

4 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Dale C. on 5/28/2017

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Somervell
By Anders H. on 5/25/2017

Alan does a great job as an instructor. He did his utmost to make the class fun and informative, even while fighting a bad cold. I learned a lot and had a good time.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Robert L. on 5/23/2017

It's clear that Stephen has a wealth of sailing knowledge and experience. But he's also very good at teaching to the level of the student. I would recommend him as an instructor to anyone that is interested in sailing!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Mark W. on 5/23/2017

Stephen's patients and knowledge are exceptional. The manner in which he teaches makes it easy to understand and bulids a solid foundation on which a sailing career can be built. I look forward to sailing with him again in the future. Thank you vety much

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Ed A. on 5/23/2017

I came to ISC with no knowledge about sailing but I have extensive knowledge in instructing Law Enforcement in Defensive Tactics. I was impressed by Stephen's ability to patiently teach us Sailor language and still instructing us in a language and cadence

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Rebecca P. on 5/21/2017

He structured the class very well. Couldn't ask for a more knowledgeable and approachable teacher. Even when conditions changed in unexpected ways, he handled every situation with positivity and turned them all into teachable moments.

4.8 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Somervell
By Kenneth T. on 5/18/2017

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Debra B. on 5/15/2017

Alan has an amazing amount of sailing experience which he shared freely. I learned a lot, now I just need to get out there! One thing that was difficult, but related to teaching 4 people on a boat, was when one person is given instruction, the others ofte

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Carisa B. on 5/15/2017

Alan, you did a great job teaching us as a group, and I felt like I got a lot of individual instruction, too. Thank you!

4.6 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Brian P. on 5/4/2017

Calm, patient with new to sailing crowd, a pleasure to work with

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Caitlin P. on 4/24/2017

Stephen was amazing! He was encouraging, challenging, and very knowledgeable. His way of teaching was easy to understand, and he went out of his way to make sure everyone in the boat understood what we were doing and why. I was also very impressed with ho

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Lynn V. on 4/19/2017

Stephen was great - he quickly and clearly explained concepts before we tried them out. His advice during maneuvers built instant confidence in each student. It was an amazing experience!

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Jim T. on 4/17/2017

Alan is a good instructor who could be great if he paid a bit more attention to clear (non-mistakable words/colloquialisms)commands. He's a great sailing resource and has an infectious joy of the sport.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Kim G. on 4/15/2017

calm and supportive, created a low stress environment

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Julie S. on 4/10/2017

Stephan is a wonderful instructor. He is able to explain concepts in multiple ways which was very helpful to my learning. He really knows boats and the physics of the wind and the effect on the sails. I really enjoyed my weekend in his course and plan to

4.6 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By David M. on 4/4/2017

I was a very raw student, with minimal amounts of boat knowledge. He accepted where i started and taught me lots, even taking an extra half day to teach us when the wind just died in class time. I have yet to dive into the net phase but it will happen...I

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Jeremiah L. on 4/3/2017

A.J. is an excellent instructor. He taught my friend and I how to sail over a few weekends and we earned a new friend in the process. A.J. all the way!

4.6 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Elizabeth H. on 4/3/2017

AJ was fantastic, we had a few hiccups with the vessel (motor died just at the end of the dock) and he was able to quickly act in raising sails to get us a safe distance from the dock all while keeping calm and teaching us in the process. He also maintain

4 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Jim W. on 4/3/2017

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Rich A. on 4/2/2017

Very enthusiastic and made learning to sail stress-free. Used a combination of anecdotes and structured training to facilitate learning. I left the course feeling that it was two FULL days of sailing - would have liked to have done 3 days.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Jonathon P. on 3/25/2017

4.6 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Steven U. on 3/21/2017

The boat on the second day (Olympia) had some issues that Capt. AJ used as an excellent learning experience that we normally would not have received. I'm VERY appreciative of his training and look forward to being able to learn more from him.

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Sarah L. on 3/21/2017

Stephen is an excellent teacher and has the skill and knowledge to make it worthwhile to be his student. Five stars on all...except professionalism. And I only rated him less than perfect there, because I think he has a bit of saltiness that is necessary

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Chizuru N. on 3/19/2017

He is an excellent instructor! Clear instruction, be always there to teach, answer all my questions!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Frankland
By Jonalan P. on 3/13/2017

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Ryan P. on 3/7/2017

Stephen was an excellent instructor. I really appreciated his safety-first perspective, his great practical tips and tricks, and the hard-earned knowledge he was happy to share. I am grateful that I had the chance to spend time on the water with him.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Chris O. on 2/20/2017

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Powning
By Colin B. on 2/12/2017

The class was fantastic and Nat is an extraordinary instructor. I enjoyed the experience tremendously and I feel like I learned a lot. I thought NauticEd was great, but nothing beats learning while underway. I'm going to join the club and I'll sign up for

4.6 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Somervell
By William B. on 2/7/2017

Really enjoyed the class. Alan did a great job, I thought, of getting the crew involved and was very patient. I would recommend the class to anybody who is looking for more advanced boat training.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Mark K. on 12/22/2016

4.6 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Somervell
By Nat P. on 11/28/2016

While I've learned a great deal in the courses I've taken from Alan it must be said that I continue to learn every time I'm lucky enough to spend time with him. From sail trim to systems troubleshooting and maintenance his knowledge in boating is staggeri

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Somervell
By Dan G. on 11/25/2016

Alan is awesome.

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By John D. on 11/23/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By james B. on 11/23/2016

Really enjoyed having Alan as an instructor.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Kyle H. on 11/15/2016

Stephen is a fantastic instructor. Never in a hurry, he will take the time necessary to address your questions at a technical level that challenges you to be your very best. His calm, collected demeanor is wonderfully contagious. I learned more about sail

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Salinas
By Mark P. on 11/14/2016

John worked with my partner and I after several attempts to schedule our training. We went at the end of October, sailing through the San Juan Islands, and had a wonderful time. John was most of all kind, but patient, professional, and tireless. The Aleth

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Powning
By Sarah N. on 11/10/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Gary D. on 11/8/2016

What an ideal experience with a superb instructor, Stephen Frankland. With an introduction to a large amount of new information we left feeling comfortable and confident of what we learned. Stephen's focus on fun, safety, fun, practical explanations that

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Kevin R. on 11/2/2016

Alan is a very good instructor, and has incredible depth of knowledge.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Terri L. on 10/31/2016

Alan really knows his craft and has learned from a multi generations of sailors. He seems to know all the tips and tricks to make your class instruction and practical interesting and very enjoyable. He's smart, funny and just an all around great instructo

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Teresa C. on 10/31/2016

4.4 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Lisa B. on 10/25/2016

4.4 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By John B. on 10/24/2016

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Karl D. on 10/9/2016

4.6 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Dorann L. on 10/9/2016

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Salinas
By Dean W. on 10/7/2016

John is an excellent instructor. Knowledgeable friendly, nurturing and also appropriately demanding and challenging. John expects his students to give their best and I believe I'll be a better sailor because of his mentoring. I love the S/V Alethea. She's

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Philippe T. on 10/6/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Cathy H. on 10/2/2016

Alan was a great teacher.

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Somervell
By AJ B. on 9/30/2016

Alan is by far the most experienced sailor I've ever met. He's always ready and willing to answer any questions you may have.

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Somervell
By Joe M. on 9/29/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Timothy M. on 9/29/2016

Instructor Alan Somervell was friendly and professional, and displayed a high degree of sailing knowledge.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Carlo N. on 9/28/2016

4.6 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By JOHN B. on 9/28/2016

Re teaching ability, I have sailing experience, and didn't have any trouble following his directions. I think my wife, in the same class and without prior experience, found that his instruction sometimes wasn't basic enough, especially in how to handle th

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Powning
By Carl D. on 9/27/2016

I had a great time and learned a lot. i now feel completely comfortable with taking a boat out, dealing with any potential problems that may arise and getting the boat back to the marina without a scratch.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Matt W. on 9/19/2016

4.6 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Crawford
By Michael M. on 9/19/2016

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Somervell
By Birgit K. on 9/17/2016

Alan enjoys teaching and has an incredible knowledge base. He set a good pace and a good tone-- 'let's just try this and see what happens.' We spent a couple of hours docking in a tight marina with 12 knots of wind in the marina. He had the patience to le

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Frankland
By Robert R. on 9/13/2016

I feel confidant I will be able to reach my goals, which may be many foreign shores

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By George C. on 9/12/2016

Great time and learned a bunch! Thanks Alan!!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Richard H. on 9/11/2016

Alan is an exceptional instructure. I learned more practical skills with him in 2 days than I had in months of sailing.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Mark T. on 9/11/2016

Alan is an amazing sailing instructor. I learned more from him in the past two days than I have ever learned in weekend or week for that matter. Seriously, ever moment was a learning experience. Everything he said was relevant, clearly stated, and practic

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Laura S. on 9/8/2016

Stephen was an amazing instructor -- so patient with us newbies, very nicely detail-oriented, enthusiastic and passionate about the sport, and diligent about issues of safety and practice. I couldn't have asked for a better experience!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Traci W. on 9/5/2016

I appreciated that Stephen was calm and receptive throughout our lessons. He is very kind, very knowledgeable and very helpful. You can see where it would be easy to finish the course overwhelmed and completely flabbergasted considering all the material a

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Kyle R. on 8/30/2016

Stephen is a sailor's sailor. He is kind enough to put you at total ease in the learning environment, but he is not a coddling instructor. He will tell you the truth and challenge you no matter what your skill level to step it up a notch. This was a very

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Benjamin H. on 8/29/2016

Stephen seemed slightly intimidating for the first two minutes, but I discovered quickly that he was very friendly. He obviously knew what he was doing, and was confident, calm, and collected in the couple close incidents we had on the water. Stephen is v

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Scott H. on 8/29/2016

Overall one of the best educational experiences of my life. I do not rate things highly very often. I like to think there is always room to improve. In this case, Stephen did such a superb job I cannot in good conscience rate him a 4 star on anything. Ste

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Lesley - Anne M. on 8/22/2016

I really enjoyed my first sailing exposure with AJ. I felt very comfortable asking questions, felt that he engaged the students well, and gave us room to learn on our own. I thought he kept our best interests in mind throughout the learning process, espec

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Ron H. on 8/22/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Frankland
By Tom S. on 8/20/2016

We greatly appreciate Stephen's skill, knowledge, and the ability to teach and translate the sailing curriculum so that we could both understand it and also apply it.

4.2 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Salinas
By Rick B. on 8/19/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Jacob R. on 8/15/2016

Stephen was a great instructor. Really knowledgeable and friendly, and made us feel comfortable taking boats out on our own.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Tom F. on 8/9/2016

Stephen is one of the best teachers of any discipline that I've studied. Great guy!!!!

4.4 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Sammons
By Jim R. on 8/8/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Cory K. on 8/8/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Emily S. on 8/7/2016

Stefan taught me so much in just two days. The weather varied significantly during the class, and great use was made of both high and low wind times. He is a very professional sailor and imparts attention to detail.

3.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Sammons
By Tasha N. on 8/7/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Sammons
By David W. on 8/7/2016

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Brian S. on 7/26/2016

First impressions mean a lot when it comes to something like sailing. Stephen has both a passion and a deep knowledge of sailing, and as a student his enthusiasm was contagious. His class included a great blend of theory and quality hands on learning. I c

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Cahen
By Dennis P. on 7/26/2016

Just wanted to say that Darroch Cohan is an outstanding instructor. 3rd generation sailor, good stories, knowledgeable and fun to learn from. Reignited my interest. Can't say enough about this guy.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Powning
By John D. on 7/25/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Robert R. on 7/24/2016

I felt Stephen presented a very professional and very approachable person. I was impressed by is patience and firm guiding process. Clearly he loves sailing and wants others to join the fold. I would both take other classes from him and send my friends to

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Salinas
By Kevin M. on 7/22/2016

I had a great experience with John as my Bareboat instructor. His boat, Alethea, was the perfect yacht to learn on, as well as gain knowledge and confidence.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Powning
By Linda W. on 7/19/2016

The two-day course was great fun and I came away wanting to get right back on the water! Thanks!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Powning
By Ismail P. on 7/19/2016

Nat was an amazing instructor- I was lucky to benefit from his incredible knowledge. He is an amazing asset for Island Sailing. I will recommend him highly.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Powning
By Marie T. on 7/18/2016

Nat at Island Sailing Club was an excellent instructor. He was very good at adjusting the lesson to the conditions and the learning style of the class members. He used down time to teach knots and other practical skills. I would definitely take another cl

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Powning
By Dede P. on 7/17/2016

Fantastic!

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Salinas
By Dan G. on 7/4/2016

Captain John was wonderful and so much fun to sail and learn with. My wife and I had a great time sailing and gaining confidence.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Christie F. on 6/21/2016

His focus on safety was especially great. I think he taught us many things that others might have glossed over, such as repeated practice on Man Overboard, how to 'heave to', anchoring, taking us out to observe a channel marker.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Jim J. on 6/19/2016

Excellent Sailor and Teacher! Great patience and enthusiasm.

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By George C. on 6/16/2016

AJ is a great instructor and very pleasant individual. He takes time as an instructor to ensure the topics taught are understood by the students and that you have plenty of hand on experience to practice what you've learned in theory. Fantastic weekend sa

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Ernesto C. on 6/11/2016

AJ was very skilled and knowledgeable. He was clear, organized and patient. He was on top of the wind forecast and adjusted our class schedule so we could be on the water when the conditions allowed for great sailing. He also had good tips on learning and

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Nick B. on 6/5/2016

Awesome class. I look forward to more of them.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Steven P. on 5/31/2016

Alan Somervell was an excellent instructor that was able to break down difficult concepts for beginners like myself. He was patient and taught us what we needed to learn to be safe on the water. I am confident to go out on my own.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Tony S. on 5/31/2016

Allen was a great instructor. He had patience and was very knowledgeable about the boat the area everything. He is also a brave man being out there with some rookies and he got us all back safe. Thanks island sailing

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Powning
By Larry S. on 5/30/2016

Couldn't have asked for a better instructor. Provided very constructive lessons without being overly critical. We did not always have ideal wind conditions... so appreciated the extra time and attention given... we were able to cover all of the practical

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Josephine D. on 5/29/2016

Stephen was a great instructor!

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Patrick B. on 5/25/2016

Stephen was a very knowledge, patient and excellent instructor. I recommend him highly.

4.6 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Evan F. on 5/20/2016

4.6 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Jake A. on 5/19/2016

It was an absolute pleasure learning to sail with Aj! He was very patient and made the whole class feel very comfortable and confident in their ability. I would definitely recommend this course!

4.2 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Krissy P. on 5/13/2016

Had a great time on the water. Thanks AJ!

4.6 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Sherry B. on 5/12/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Alia H. on 5/10/2016

Stephen is an ideal instructor. He taught us all of the basic sailing techniques and encouraged each student to take on increasing responsibility for the vessel. He has a great deal of boating experience that helped us to gain a better understanding of wa

4.4 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By james B. on 5/10/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Elaine G. on 5/8/2016

While taking the lessons Stephen explained the situation and showed the results if done correctly or incorrectly. He encouraged you to work towards being the best that you can be and he didn't get impatient when you didn't quite achieve what he wanted you

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Richard H. on 4/29/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Powning
By Jeff B. on 4/25/2016

Nat is a great instructor!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Idi M. on 4/21/2016

AJ is easy-going with tremendous sailing experience. I had a great time learning sailing. AJ was friendly and set-up the a great learning atmosphere for everyone.

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Dylan B. on 4/18/2016

Stephen was enthusiastic, friendly, knowledgeable, encouraging and competent. Nothing but the best things to say about him as a teacher! He has me very excited to get out on the water!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Frankland
By Chris K. on 4/12/2016

Very capable and competent skipper and instructor. Enthusiasm for sailing and introducing others to it is inspiring.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Martha S. on 4/6/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Terri L. on 4/6/2016

Stephen has a true passion for sailing and he's excited to share his knowledge with his students. He is very concerned with the students experience and learning and he goes in depth to explain everything in great detail and add stories and situations for

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Christopher B. on 4/5/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Tom S. on 4/3/2016

An amazing day ..., looking forward to greater proficiency!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Larry P. on 3/26/2016

A great sailing instructor! Very knowledgeable and knows how to make it understandable. Highly recommended.

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Jonalan P. on 3/18/2016

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Robin V. on 3/17/2016

Stephen is a fantastic instructor. Very good at explaining and demonstrating the essentials to our group. He clearly has a passion for sailing and is so personable in sharing history and sailing etiquette. I would also add he really has a natural gift of

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Jeanne A. on 3/16/2016

Had a great time, learned a lot, not quite as scared as I was.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Mark A. on 3/16/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Anonymous on 11/25/2015

Just finished the basic keelboat class. Good instructors and equipment. Very thorough training. Some in class had no prior sailing experience and were comfortable at the helm in two days. With Island you can go from landlubber to sailor in a week-end! Clu

5 / 5 rating: Club Member with Sailing Club
By Dan on 11/1/2015

We've been members of the Island Sailing Club for several years. The staff are great, the boats are pretty good and the price is cheap. $184 a month, to take out a boat that you don't have to do any upkeep on. Their classes are a good deal too. We sail mo

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Rochalle R. on 9/9/2015

I had my first sailing lessons here.  I was joining a friend and flying in from LAX and ended up arriving much later than expected.  They gave me a crash course while everyone else was out on the boats which I thought went above and beyond their job dutie

5 / 5 rating: Club Member with Sailing Club
By Dieter W. on 9/1/2015

Happy 20th Dieter: Hi Alan, I just saw that my first certification from ISC was dated 7-94. How cool is that!? It speaks a lot of the quality of ISC, and especially the excellence of the people who work there! Since the beginning it has been a huge pleasu

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Carlos on 8/26/2015

What a great weekend I have to thank the 'boys' at Island Sailing Club In Portland... for running a top notch casually fun facility. I learned so much and had so much fun this weekend. Who knows what doors this first step will lead to.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Ricky on 8/26/2015

I had a great time in the basic keelboat course. Alan and Paul are excellent instructors, they are both very patient and really enjoyed every aspect of the class. I feel I have been given some very good tools to add to my sailing tool  kit and I'm eager t

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Somervell
By John H. on 6/29/2015

Allan is an excellent instructor, and very knowledgeable. Training was fun and interesting.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By John H. on 6/29/2015

Alan is an excellent instructor, and very knowledgeable. Training was fun and interesting.

5 / 5 rating: Club Member with Sailing Club
By Sean on 6/1/2015

Island Sailing  has done a great job training us with an emphasis on safety and seamanship. Through our membership, we have been able to sail on the Columbia River, the Willamette River, and the Puget Sound.... A friendly and knowledgeable staff combined

4 / 5 rating: Club Member with Sailing Club
By Bridget P. on 8/1/2013

We've been members of the Island Sailing Club for several years. The staff are great, the boats are pretty good and the price is cheap. $184 a month, to take out a boat that you don't have to do any upkeep on. Their classes are a good deal too. We sail mo