Sailing Reviews

Sailing reviews and testimonials on Island Sailing Classes and Club....


5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By J. Keith on 6/14/2017

AJ did a great job, really enjoyed the time with him. He let us learn, had us doing the work, and coached us well. The only suggestion I would have for improvement is to teach more of how to get the boat prepped from the time we walk on the dock. There WERE a lot of us in the class, which limited our time. However, as I head towards my first solo use of the vessel, I'm a little bit concerned that I know all the dockside items I need to do.

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Salinas
By John D. on 6/13/2017

A great teacher. Maybe because he was in the educational field as his profession. He had a great manner at putting you at ease. His instructions were also very clear. His wife was great at teaching and helping also. They made the learning experience great plus making it a fun time on the water. I would recommend them and their boat the Althea to anyone.

4.6 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By John B. on 6/11/2017

3.6 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Brian C. on 6/5/2017

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Ashley H. on 6/2/2017

Stephen is the best instructor I have ever had. His ability to teach to many different levels of learning and ability spoke volumes. When you learn to sail Stephen is the man to teach you.

4 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Dale C. on 5/28/2017

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Somervell
By Anders H. on 5/25/2017

Alan does a great job as an instructor. He did his utmost to make the class fun and informative, even while fighting a bad cold. I learned a lot and had a good time.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Robert L. on 5/23/2017

It's clear that Stephen has a wealth of sailing knowledge and experience. But he's also very good at teaching to the level of the student. I would recommend him as an instructor to anyone that is interested in sailing!

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Ed A. on 5/23/2017

I came to ISC with no knowledge about sailing but I have extensive knowledge in instructing Law Enforcement in Defensive Tactics. I was impressed by Stephen's ability to patiently teach us Sailor language and still instructing us in a language and cadence that calmed the Newbie Butterflies yet commanded the response necessary for safe sailing. Taking us in under sail when our boat motor died convinced me that I can only hope my future instructors will be as qualified.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Mark W. on 5/23/2017

Stephen's patients and knowledge are exceptional. The manner in which he teaches makes it easy to understand and bulids a solid foundation on which a sailing career can be built. I look forward to sailing with him again in the future. Thank you vety much Stephen!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Rebecca P. on 5/21/2017

He structured the class very well. Couldn't ask for a more knowledgeable and approachable teacher. Even when conditions changed in unexpected ways, he handled every situation with positivity and turned them all into teachable moments.

4.8 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Somervell
By Kenneth T. on 5/18/2017

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Debra B. on 5/15/2017

Alan has an amazing amount of sailing experience which he shared freely. I learned a lot, now I just need to get out there! One thing that was difficult, but related to teaching 4 people on a boat, was when one person is given instruction, the others often do not get the same info because we would be on different parts of the boat. This is not a fault, just something to think about.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Carisa B. on 5/15/2017

Alan, you did a great job teaching us as a group, and I felt like I got a lot of individual instruction, too. Thank you!

4.6 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Brian P. on 5/4/2017

Calm, patient with new to sailing crowd, a pleasure to work with

5 / 5 rating: Sailing Club
By Colin B. on 4/30/2017

For serious and low key, recreational sailors alike, Island Sailing Club can't be beat. At a fraction of what it would cost to register, maintain, insure and moor a boat, and a lot less expensive than other clubs, Island Sailing has a great selection of well maintained boats in various rigs and lengths. Probably the best part of the club are the other members - a fun, easy going group. Racing maniacs and casual puff-chasers, beginners and trans-ocean Captains, the members are great fun to spend time with on deck or in the clubhouse. The classes are taught by experienced, approachable sailors at a deep discount for members which makes Island Sailing Club a perfect opportunity for sailors trying - as I am - to get as much experience and education as possible, as quickly as possible and as economically as possible.Take a class, meet Josh, Alan, Dave and Mr. Mittens. You will be glad that you did.

5 / 5 rating: Sailing Club
By Chi N. on 4/29/2017

I had an opportunity to be on my friend's sailing boat and it made me want to know about sailing.Until then, I wasn't interested in any water sports and I was even scared of water.So I decided to take the first sailing and the weekend basic sailing class at the Island Sailing. The instructor Stephen has great knowledge and lots of experience. He was willing to share it and teaching me patiently with encouragement! I learned from him so much! The Program Director Josh has been so supportive since I sent my first email to ask about classes. To start learning about sailing from O (sailing terminology was foreign to me at the beginning!) has been challenging. But I've started getting on a boat with a mentor and I learn every time and am more comfortable to be on a boat. That makes me happy. My decision to learn sailing was right. Josh and the instructors provide warm-welcoming atmosphere and support. Without them, I didn't think that way. Thank you so much!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Caitlin P. on 4/24/2017

Stephen was amazing! He was encouraging, challenging, and very knowledgeable. His way of teaching was easy to understand, and he went out of his way to make sure everyone in the boat understood what we were doing and why. I was also very impressed with how respectful he was. Anytime he would take over a task that a student was doing to show a new technique or easier way of doing it, he would ask permission first, and then thank us when he gave the control back to us. All around an excellent teacher!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Lynn V. on 4/19/2017

Stephen was great - he quickly and clearly explained concepts before we tried them out. His advice during maneuvers built instant confidence in each student. It was an amazing experience!

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Jim T. on 4/17/2017

Alan is a good instructor who could be great if he paid a bit more attention to clear (non-mistakable words/colloquialisms)commands. He's a great sailing resource and has an infectious joy of the sport.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Kim G. on 4/15/2017

calm and supportive, created a low stress environment

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Julie S. on 4/10/2017

Stephan is a wonderful instructor. He is able to explain concepts in multiple ways which was very helpful to my learning. He really knows boats and the physics of the wind and the effect on the sails. I really enjoyed my weekend in his course and plan to take more classes with him as the instructor.

4.6 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By David M. on 4/4/2017

I was a very raw student, with minimal amounts of boat knowledge. He accepted where i started and taught me lots, even taking an extra half day to teach us when the wind just died in class time. I have yet to dive into the net phase but it will happen...I enjoyed being taught by him.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Jeremiah L. on 4/3/2017

A.J. is an excellent instructor. He taught my friend and I how to sail over a few weekends and we earned a new friend in the process. A.J. all the way!

4 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Jim W. on 4/3/2017

4.6 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Elizabeth H. on 4/3/2017

AJ was fantastic, we had a few hiccups with the vessel (motor died just at the end of the dock) and he was able to quickly act in raising sails to get us a safe distance from the dock all while keeping calm and teaching us in the process. He also maintained our interest and fun during the technical learning portions as well as engaged our groups adventure side by pushing us in situations when he felt we were ready. Loved AJ!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Rich A. on 4/2/2017

Very enthusiastic and made learning to sail stress-free. Used a combination of anecdotes and structured training to facilitate learning. I left the course feeling that it was two FULL days of sailing - would have liked to have done 3 days.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Jonathon P. on 3/25/2017

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Sarah L. on 3/21/2017

Stephen is an excellent teacher and has the skill and knowledge to make it worthwhile to be his student. Five stars on all...except professionalism. And I only rated him less than perfect there, because I think he has a bit of saltiness that is necessary and respectable in any great captain.

4.6 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Steven U. on 3/21/2017

The boat on the second day (Olympia) had some issues that Capt. AJ used as an excellent learning experience that we normally would not have received. I'm VERY appreciative of his training and look forward to being able to learn more from him.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Chizuru N. on 3/19/2017

He is an excellent instructor! Clear instruction, be always there to teach, answer all my questions!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Frankland
By Jonalan P. on 3/13/2017

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Ryan P. on 3/7/2017

Stephen was an excellent instructor. I really appreciated his safety-first perspective, his great practical tips and tricks, and the hard-earned knowledge he was happy to share. I am grateful that I had the chance to spend time on the water with him.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Chris O. on 2/20/2017

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Powning
By Colin B. on 2/12/2017

The class was fantastic and Nat is an extraordinary instructor. I enjoyed the experience tremendously and I feel like I learned a lot. I thought NauticEd was great, but nothing beats learning while underway. I'm going to join the club and I'll sign up for Learn to Cruise - Basic Coastal Cruising as soon as they offer it. Hopefully I'll be 'port to port' with Nat again really soon.

4.6 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Somervell
By William B. on 2/7/2017

Really enjoyed the class. Alan did a great job, I thought, of getting the crew involved and was very patient. I would recommend the class to anybody who is looking for more advanced boat training.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Mark K. on 12/22/2016

4.6 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Somervell
By Nat P. on 11/28/2016

While I've learned a great deal in the courses I've taken from Alan it must be said that I continue to learn every time I'm lucky enough to spend time with him. From sail trim to systems troubleshooting and maintenance his knowledge in boating is staggering and his passion for sharing this is very much appreciated.

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Somervell
By Dan G. on 11/25/2016

Alan is awesome.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By james B. on 11/23/2016

Really enjoyed having Alan as an instructor.

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By John D. on 11/23/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Kyle H. on 11/15/2016

Stephen is a fantastic instructor. Never in a hurry, he will take the time necessary to address your questions at a technical level that challenges you to be your very best. His calm, collected demeanor is wonderfully contagious. I learned more about sailing in a weekend as his pupil than I have in several 1-on-1 lessons with the local 'old salts'.

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Salinas
By Mark P. on 11/14/2016

John worked with my partner and I after several attempts to schedule our training. We went at the end of October, sailing through the San Juan Islands, and had a wonderful time. John was most of all kind, but patient, professional, and tireless. The Alethea was a wonderful sailing vessel and we look forward to returning in warmer weather. Mark Padgett

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Powning
By Sarah N. on 11/10/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Gary D. on 11/8/2016

What an ideal experience with a superb instructor, Stephen Frankland. With an introduction to a large amount of new information we left feeling comfortable and confident of what we learned. Stephen's focus on fun, safety, fun, practical explanations that made complete sense, attentiveness, fun, focus on as much hands on time as possible, seamanship, fun, and so much more made it a very pleasurable encounter. We can't wait to get out and practice/hone our new found skills! Thank you Stephen. Gary & Jenifer

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Kevin R. on 11/2/2016

Alan is a very good instructor, and has incredible depth of knowledge.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Terri L. on 10/31/2016

Alan really knows his craft and has learned from a multi generations of sailors. He seems to know all the tips and tricks to make your class instruction and practical interesting and very enjoyable. He's smart, funny and just an all around great instructor. I would highly recommend Alan to anyone wanting to learn how to sail.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Teresa C. on 10/31/2016

4.4 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Lisa B. on 10/25/2016

4.4 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By John B. on 10/24/2016

4.6 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Dorann L. on 10/9/2016

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Karl D. on 10/9/2016

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Salinas
By Dean W. on 10/7/2016

John is an excellent instructor. Knowledgeable friendly, nurturing and also appropriately demanding and challenging. John expects his students to give their best and I believe I'll be a better sailor because of his mentoring. I love the S/V Alethea. She's a wonderful, lovingly maintained 1968 Pearson 43 with many upgrades and improvements. Her systems are more complex than most (typically much newer) charters and I really think that makes the Alethea a much more valuable interesting teaching platform.

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Philippe T. on 10/6/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Cathy H. on 10/2/2016

Alan was a great teacher.

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Somervell
By AJ B. on 9/30/2016

Alan is by far the most experienced sailor I've ever met. He's always ready and willing to answer any questions you may have.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Timothy M. on 9/29/2016

Instructor Alan Somervell was friendly and professional, and displayed a high degree of sailing knowledge.

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Somervell
By Joe M. on 9/29/2016

4.6 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By JOHN B. on 9/28/2016

Re teaching ability, I have sailing experience, and didn't have any trouble following his directions. I think my wife, in the same class and without prior experience, found that his instruction sometimes wasn't basic enough, especially in how to handle the tiller.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Carlo N. on 9/28/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Powning
By Carl D. on 9/27/2016

I had a great time and learned a lot. i now feel completely comfortable with taking a boat out, dealing with any potential problems that may arise and getting the boat back to the marina without a scratch.

4.6 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Crawford
By Michael M. on 9/19/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Matt W. on 9/19/2016

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Somervell
By Birgit K. on 9/17/2016

Alan enjoys teaching and has an incredible knowledge base. He set a good pace and a good tone-- 'let's just try this and see what happens.' We spent a couple of hours docking in a tight marina with 12 knots of wind in the marina. He had the patience to let me try multiple approaches when trying to dock sideways upwind, and exuded confidence that we can do it. No vessels or egos were harmed in the attempt. And now I feel very confident that I can handle a bareboat charter.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Frankland
By Robert R. on 9/13/2016

I feel confidant I will be able to reach my goals, which may be many foreign shores

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By George C. on 9/12/2016

Great time and learned a bunch! Thanks Alan!!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Richard H. on 9/11/2016

Alan is an exceptional instructure. I learned more practical skills with him in 2 days than I had in months of sailing.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Somervell
By Mark T. on 9/11/2016

Alan is an amazing sailing instructor. I learned more from him in the past two days than I have ever learned in weekend or week for that matter. Seriously, ever moment was a learning experience. Everything he said was relevant, clearly stated, and practical. His is truly the best of the best, and I would recommend him to anyone without hesitation. He is without a doubt a master at his trade.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Laura S. on 9/8/2016

Stephen was an amazing instructor -- so patient with us newbies, very nicely detail-oriented, enthusiastic and passionate about the sport, and diligent about issues of safety and practice. I couldn't have asked for a better experience!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Traci W. on 9/5/2016

I appreciated that Stephen was calm and receptive throughout our lessons. He is very kind, very knowledgeable and very helpful. You can see where it would be easy to finish the course overwhelmed and completely flabbergasted considering all the material and experience to be had. Stephen provides a safe and open learning environment so everyone can begin to experience the joy of sailing. I can't wait to sail more!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Kyle R. on 8/30/2016

Stephen is a sailor's sailor. He is kind enough to put you at total ease in the learning environment, but he is not a coddling instructor. He will tell you the truth and challenge you no matter what your skill level to step it up a notch. This was a very rewarding experience. He is very precise with instructions and I feel that has given me the experience of having done the skills correctly, even if because being instructed. That gives me the ability to know how it should look as I go out on my own. A good guy.

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Benjamin H. on 8/29/2016

Stephen seemed slightly intimidating for the first two minutes, but I discovered quickly that he was very friendly. He obviously knew what he was doing, and was confident, calm, and collected in the couple close incidents we had on the water. Stephen is very good at teaching concepts, such as the letting the mainsheet out in gusts. He gets the point across with clarity and good humor. Many thanks to him for teaching me in the Skipper Small Keelboat Course.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Scott H. on 8/29/2016

Overall one of the best educational experiences of my life. I do not rate things highly very often. I like to think there is always room to improve. In this case, Stephen did such a superb job I cannot in good conscience rate him a 4 star on anything. Stephen was fund and engaging. He kept us working continually. Though we had fun, we rarely had time to kick back and relax and just enjoy the sailing. There was always something to learn at every moment. What a blast. I love the spirit he taught with. We weren't learning to pass a test. We were learning what would help us have joy in sailing. Thanks Stephen!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Lesley - Anne M. on 8/22/2016

I really enjoyed my first sailing exposure with AJ. I felt very comfortable asking questions, felt that he engaged the students well, and gave us room to learn on our own. I thought he kept our best interests in mind throughout the learning process, especially with the potentially inclement weather.

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Ron H. on 8/22/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Frankland
By Tom S. on 8/20/2016

We greatly appreciate Stephen's skill, knowledge, and the ability to teach and translate the sailing curriculum so that we could both understand it and also apply it.

4.2 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Salinas
By Rick B. on 8/19/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Jacob R. on 8/15/2016

Stephen was a great instructor. Really knowledgeable and friendly, and made us feel comfortable taking boats out on our own.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Tom F. on 8/9/2016

Stephen is one of the best teachers of any discipline that I've studied. Great guy!!!!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Cory K. on 8/8/2016

4.4 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Sammons
By Jim R. on 8/8/2016

3.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Sammons
By Tasha N. on 8/7/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Sammons
By David W. on 8/7/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Emily S. on 8/7/2016

Stefan taught me so much in just two days. The weather varied significantly during the class, and great use was made of both high and low wind times. He is a very professional sailor and imparts attention to detail.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Cahen
By Dennis P. on 7/26/2016

Just wanted to say that Darroch Cohan is an outstanding instructor. 3rd generation sailor, good stories, knowledgeable and fun to learn from. Reignited my interest. Can't say enough about this guy.

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Brian S. on 7/26/2016

First impressions mean a lot when it comes to something like sailing. Stephen has both a passion and a deep knowledge of sailing, and as a student his enthusiasm was contagious. His class included a great blend of theory and quality hands on learning. I cannot thank him enough for the great experience.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Powning
By John D. on 7/25/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Robert R. on 7/24/2016

I felt Stephen presented a very professional and very approachable person. I was impressed by is patience and firm guiding process. Clearly he loves sailing and wants others to join the fold. I would both take other classes from him and send my friends to him.

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Salinas
By Kevin M. on 7/22/2016

I had a great experience with John as my Bareboat instructor. His boat, Alethea, was the perfect yacht to learn on, as well as gain knowledge and confidence.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Powning
By Ismail P. on 7/19/2016

Nat was an amazing instructor- I was lucky to benefit from his incredible knowledge. He is an amazing asset for Island Sailing. I will recommend him highly.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Powning
By Linda W. on 7/19/2016

The two-day course was great fun and I came away wanting to get right back on the water! Thanks!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Powning
By Marie T. on 7/18/2016

Nat at Island Sailing Club was an excellent instructor. He was very good at adjusting the lesson to the conditions and the learning style of the class members. He used down time to teach knots and other practical skills. I would definitely take another class with Nat.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Powning
By Dede P. on 7/17/2016

Fantastic!

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Salinas
By Dan G. on 7/4/2016

Captain John was wonderful and so much fun to sail and learn with. My wife and I had a great time sailing and gaining confidence.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Christie F. on 6/21/2016

His focus on safety was especially great. I think he taught us many things that others might have glossed over, such as repeated practice on Man Overboard, how to 'heave to', anchoring, taking us out to observe a channel marker.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Jim J. on 6/19/2016

Excellent Sailor and Teacher! Great patience and enthusiasm.

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By George C. on 6/16/2016

AJ is a great instructor and very pleasant individual. He takes time as an instructor to ensure the topics taught are understood by the students and that you have plenty of hand on experience to practice what you've learned in theory. Fantastic weekend sailing with him! The boats are in fact very well maintained, but some could use a hull cleaning below the waterline.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Ernesto C. on 6/11/2016

AJ was very skilled and knowledgeable. He was clear, organized and patient. He was on top of the wind forecast and adjusted our class schedule so we could be on the water when the conditions allowed for great sailing. He also had good tips on learning and remembering key concepts and techniques. We had fun and learned a lot.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Nick B. on 6/5/2016

Awesome class. I look forward to more of them.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Tony S. on 5/31/2016

Allen was a great instructor. He had patience and was very knowledgeable about the boat the area everything. He is also a brave man being out there with some rookies and he got us all back safe. Thanks island sailing

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Steven P. on 5/31/2016

Alan Somervell was an excellent instructor that was able to break down difficult concepts for beginners like myself. He was patient and taught us what we needed to learn to be safe on the water. I am confident to go out on my own.

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Powning
By Larry S. on 5/30/2016

Couldn't have asked for a better instructor. Provided very constructive lessons without being overly critical. We did not always have ideal wind conditions... so appreciated the extra time and attention given... we were able to cover all of the practical components in the end. Thanks Nat!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Josephine D. on 5/29/2016

Stephen was a great instructor!

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Patrick B. on 5/25/2016

Stephen was a very knowledge, patient and excellent instructor. I recommend him highly.

4.6 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Evan F. on 5/20/2016

4.6 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Jake A. on 5/19/2016

It was an absolute pleasure learning to sail with Aj! He was very patient and made the whole class feel very comfortable and confident in their ability. I would definitely recommend this course!

4.2 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Krissy P. on 5/13/2016

Had a great time on the water. Thanks AJ!

4.6 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Sherry B. on 5/12/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Alia H. on 5/10/2016

Stephen is an ideal instructor. He taught us all of the basic sailing techniques and encouraged each student to take on increasing responsibility for the vessel. He has a great deal of boating experience that helped us to gain a better understanding of waterway rules, boating safety and communication skillsn necessary to Skipper a sailboat. It was a great course, and I feel confident in the foundation that we set in the Skipper course.

4.4 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By james B. on 5/10/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Elaine G. on 5/8/2016

While taking the lessons Stephen explained the situation and showed the results if done correctly or incorrectly. He encouraged you to work towards being the best that you can be and he didn't get impatient when you didn't quite achieve what he wanted you to accomplish. In his teaching he showed both visually and verbally how to sail and to manage the crew to keep them and yourself safe. He didn't mind showing it more than once and answered questions showing all of the knowledge he has had in past experiences in his sailing life. He made sure that all of the students had equal time to make the best of the lesson time out on the water and in the classroom. You could tell that he wanted to teach so that sailing would be fun and not stressful. I would take lessons from him again and also tell others what a good instructor he is. Thank you.

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Richard H. on 4/29/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Powning
By Jeff B. on 4/25/2016

Nat is a great instructor!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Brannan
By Idi M. on 4/21/2016

AJ is easy-going with tremendous sailing experience. I had a great time learning sailing. AJ was friendly and set-up the a great learning atmosphere for everyone.

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Dylan B. on 4/18/2016

Stephen was enthusiastic, friendly, knowledgeable, encouraging and competent. Nothing but the best things to say about him as a teacher! He has me very excited to get out on the water!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Cruising Course with Capt. Frankland
By Chris K. on 4/12/2016

Very capable and competent skipper and instructor. Enthusiasm for sailing and introducing others to it is inspiring.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Martha S. on 4/6/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Terri L. on 4/6/2016

Stephen has a true passion for sailing and he's excited to share his knowledge with his students. He is very concerned with the students experience and learning and he goes in depth to explain everything in great detail and add stories and situations for a full understanding and learning experience. I would highly recommend Stephen to anyone wanting to learn how to sail.

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Christopher B. on 4/5/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Tom S. on 4/3/2016

An amazing day ..., looking forward to greater proficiency!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Larry P. on 3/26/2016

A great sailing instructor! Very knowledgeable and knows how to make it understandable. Highly recommended.

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Jonalan P. on 3/18/2016

4.8 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Robin V. on 3/17/2016

Stephen is a fantastic instructor. Very good at explaining and demonstrating the essentials to our group. He clearly has a passion for sailing and is so personable in sharing history and sailing etiquette. I would also add he really has a natural gift of being able to teach effectively and unending patients. Thanks you so much Stephen!!

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Jeanne A. on 3/16/2016

Had a great time, learned a lot, not quite as scared as I was.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Frankland
By Mark A. on 3/16/2016

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Anonymous on 11/25/2015

Just finished the basic keelboat class. Good instructors and equipment. Very thorough training. Some in class had no prior sailing experience and were comfortable at the helm in two days. With Island you can go from landlubber to sailor in a week-end! Club rates are good too. Highly recommend them.

5 / 5 rating: Sailing Club
By Dan on 11/1/2015

We've been members of the Island Sailing Club for several years. The staff are great, the boats are pretty good and the price is cheap. $184 a month, to take out a boat that you don't have to do any upkeep on. Their classes are a good deal too. We sail most weekends and also go to their semi-annual formals and their dock parties are terrific too.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Rochalle R. on 9/9/2015

I had my first sailing lessons here.  I was joining a friend and flying in from LAX and ended up arriving much later than expected.  They gave me a crash course while everyone else was out on the boats which I thought went above and beyond their job duties.  The instructors are really fun, knowledgeable, and just general pleasures to be around.  I was really nervous at first but they just made everything so relaxed.  I didnt pass because I wasnt able to get a hold of the book until I got there.  (I'm the type that needs to study).  Good thing is you can retake it which I will be when I'm in Portland again soon!  I would actually retake the class if I had to because it was a lot of fun!  It really is like learning a new language.  Oh also, they the most adorable cat mascot which made me super happy lol.

5 / 5 rating: Sailing Club
By Dieter W. on 9/1/2015

Happy 20th Dieter: Hi Alan, I just saw that my first certification from ISC was dated 7-94. How cool is that!? It speaks a lot of the quality of ISC, and especially the excellence of the people who work there! Since the beginning it has been a huge pleasure to be part of ISC, and I have always appreciated the awesome instructions, the technical assistance, and the countless perks I had received over the years! I am very fortunate to have made so many friends among the sailing community, mostly through the Club! My heartfelt “Thank You!” to all of you! 

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Ricky on 8/26/2015

I had a great time in the basic keelboat course. Alan and Paul are excellent instructors, they are both very patient and really enjoyed every aspect of the class. I feel I have been given some very good tools to add to my sailing tool  kit and I'm eager to get back on the water with my local sailing group in Idaho to put them into practice.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By Carlos on 8/26/2015

What a great weekend I have to thank the 'boys' at Island Sailing Club In Portland... for running a top notch casually fun facility. I learned so much and had so much fun this weekend. Who knows what doors this first step will lead to.

5 / 5 rating: Bareboat Course with Capt. Somervell
By John H. on 6/29/2015

Allan is an excellent instructor, and very knowledgeable. Training was fun and interesting.

5 / 5 rating: Basic Sailing Course with Capt. Somervell
By John H. on 6/29/2015

Alan is an excellent instructor, and very knowledgeable. Training was fun and interesting.

5 / 5 rating: Sailing Club
By Sean on 6/1/2015

Island Sailing  has done a great job training us with an emphasis on safety and seamanship. Through our membership, we have been able to sail on the Columbia River, the Willamette River, and the Puget Sound.... A friendly and knowledgeable staff combined with a nice selection of boats in the Puget Sound and Portland locations makes Island Sailing the ideal place to gain or maintain your sailing skills.... The foundational sailing skills obtained have given us the ability to sail, charter, teach and ultimately gave us the confidence to purchase our own boat.