Sailing Reviews

Reviews and testimonials on Island Sailing Classes and Club....


Basic Cruising Course, Capt. Somervell, 10/25/16, 4.4/5 rating

Lisa B.Vancouver WA

Basic Cruising Course, Capt. Somervell, 10/24/16, 4.4/5 rating

John B.Vancouver WA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Brannan, 10/09/16, 4.8/5 rating

Karl D.Bellevue WA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Brannan, 10/09/16, 4.6/5 rating

Dorann L.Olympia WA

Bareboat Course, Capt. Salinas, 10/07/16, 5/5 rating

John is an excellent instructor. Knowledgeable friendly, nurturing and also appropriately demanding and challenging. John expects his students to give their best and I believe I’ll be a better sailor because of his mentoring. I love the S/V Alethea. She’s a wonderful, lovingly maintained 1968 Pearson 43 with many upgrades and improvements. Her systems are more complex than most (typically much newer) charters and I really think that makes the Alethea a much more valuable interesting teaching platform.

Dean W.Sammamish WA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Somervell, 10/06/16, 4.8/5 rating

Philippe T.

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Somervell, 10/02/16, 5/5 rating

Alan was a great teacher.

Cathy H.USA

Bareboat Course, Capt. Somervell, 09/30/16, 5/5 rating

Alan is by far the most experienced sailor I’ve ever met. He’s always ready and willing to answer any questions you may have.

AJ B.Auburn WA

Basic Cruising Course, Capt. Somervell, 09/29/16, 5/5 rating

Instructor Alan Somervell was friendly and professional, and displayed a high degree of sailing knowledge.

Timothy M.Portland OR

Bareboat Course, Capt. Somervell, 09/29/16, 5/5 rating

Joe M.Sandy OR

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Somervell, 09/28/16, 4.6/5 rating

Re teaching ability, I have sailing experience, and didn’t have any trouble following his directions. I think my wife, in the same class and without prior experience, found that his instruction sometimes wasn’t basic enough, especially in how to handle the tiller.

JOHN B.Portland OR

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Somervell, 09/28/16, 5/5 rating

Carlo N.USA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Powning, 09/27/16, 5/5 rating

I had a great time and learned a lot. i now feel completely comfortable with taking a boat out, dealing with any potential problems that may arise and getting the boat back to the marina without a scratch.

Carl D.Hillsboro OR

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Frankland, 09/19/16, 5/5 rating

Matt W.Portland OR

Bareboat Course, Capt. Somervell, 09/17/16, 5/5 rating

Alan enjoys teaching and has an incredible knowledge base. He set a good pace and a good tone– “let’s just try this and see what happens.” We spent a couple of hours docking in a tight marina with 12 knots of wind in the marina. He had the patience to let me try multiple approaches when trying to dock sideways upwind, and exuded confidence that we can do it. No vessels or egos were harmed in the attempt. And now I feel very confident that I can handle a bareboat charter.

Birgit K.Portland OR

Basic Cruising Course, Capt. Frankland, 09/13/16, 5/5 rating

I feel confidant I will be able to reach my goals, which may be many foreign shores

Robert R.Portland OR

Basic Cruising Course, Capt. Somervell, 09/12/16, 5/5 rating

Great time and learned a bunch! Thanks Alan!!

George C.Kirkland WA

Basic Cruising Course, Capt. Somervell, 09/11/16, 5/5 rating

Alan is an exceptional instructure. I learned more practical skills with him in 2 days than I had in months of sailing.

Richard H.Mill Creek WA

Basic Cruising Course, Capt. Somervell, 09/11/16, 5/5 rating

Alan is an amazing sailing instructor. I learned more from him in the past two days than I have ever learned in weekend or week for that matter. Seriously, ever moment was a learning experience. Everything he said was relevant, clearly stated, and practical. His is truly the best of the best, and I would recommend him to anyone without hesitation. He is without a doubt a master at his trade.

Mark T.Bothell WA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Frankland, 09/08/16, 5/5 rating

Stephen was an amazing instructor — so patient with us newbies, very nicely detail-oriented, enthusiastic and passionate about the sport, and diligent about issues of safety and practice. I couldn’t have asked for a better experience!

Laura S.Portland OR

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Frankland, 09/05/16, 5/5 rating

I appreciated that Stephen was calm and receptive throughout our lessons. He is very kind, very knowledgeable and very helpful. You can see where it would be easy to finish the course overwhelmed and completely flabbergasted considering all the material and experience to be had. Stephen provides a safe and open learning environment so everyone can begin to experience the joy of sailing. I can’t wait to sail more!

Traci W.USA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Frankland, 08/30/16, 5/5 rating

Stephen is a sailor’s sailor. He is kind enough to put you at total ease in the learning environment, but he is not a coddling instructor. He will tell you the truth and challenge you no matter what your skill level to step it up a notch. This was a very rewarding experience. He is very precise with instructions and I feel that has given me the experience of having done the skills correctly, even if because being instructed. That gives me the ability to know how it should look as I go out on my own. A good guy.

Kyle R.Portland OR

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Frankland, 08/29/16, 5/5 rating

Overall one of the best educational experiences of my life. I do not rate things highly very often. I like to think there is always room to improve. In this case, Stephen did such a superb job I cannot in good conscience rate him a 4 star on anything. Stephen was fund and engaging. He kept us working continually. Though we had fun, we rarely had time to kick back and relax and just enjoy the sailing. There was always something to learn at every moment. What a blast. I love the spirit he taught with. We weren’t learning to pass a test. We were learning what would help us have joy in sailing. Thanks Stephen!

Scott H.USA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Frankland, 08/29/16, 4.8/5 rating

Stephen seemed slightly intimidating for the first two minutes, but I discovered quickly that he was very friendly. He obviously knew what he was doing, and was confident, calm, and collected in the couple close incidents we had on the water. Stephen is very good at teaching concepts, such as the letting the mainsheet out in gusts. He gets the point across with clarity and good humor. Many thanks to him for teaching me in the Skipper Small Keelboat Course.

Benjamin H.USA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Frankland, 08/22/16, 4.8/5 rating

Ron H.Camas WA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Brannan, 08/22/16, 5/5 rating

I really enjoyed my first sailing exposure with AJ. I felt very comfortable asking questions, felt that he engaged the students well, and gave us room to learn on our own. I thought he kept our best interests in mind throughout the learning process, especially with the potentially inclement weather.

Lesley - Anne M.USA

Basic Cruising Course, Capt. Frankland, 08/20/16, 5/5 rating

We greatly appreciate Stephen’s skill, knowledge, and the ability to teach and translate the sailing curriculum so that we could both understand it and also apply it.

Tom S.Tigard OR

Bareboat Course, Capt. Salinas, 08/19/16, 4.2/5 rating

Rick B.USA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Frankland, 08/15/16, 5/5 rating

Stephen was a great instructor. Really knowledgeable and friendly, and made us feel comfortable taking boats out on our own.

Jacob R.Portland OR

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Frankland, 08/09/16, 5/5 rating

Stephen is one of the best teachers of any discipline that I’ve studied. Great guy!!!!

Tom F.Vancouver WA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Sammons, 08/08/16, 4.4/5 rating

Jim R.Ocean Park WA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Frankland, 08/08/16, 5/5 rating

Cory K.Portland OR

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Sammons, 08/07/16, 3.8/5 rating

Tasha N.Portland OR

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Frankland, 08/07/16, 5/5 rating

Stefan taught me so much in just two days. The weather varied significantly during the class, and great use was made of both high and low wind times. He is a very professional sailor and imparts attention to detail.

Emily S.Portland OR

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Sammons, 08/07/16, 5/5 rating

David W.Portland OR

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Powning, 07/25/16, 5/5 rating

John D.USA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Frankland, 07/24/16, 5/5 rating

I felt Stephen presented a very professional and very approachable person. I was impressed by is patience and firm guiding process. Clearly he loves sailing and wants others to join the fold. I would both take other classes from him and send my friends to him.

Robert R.Portland OR

Bareboat Course, Capt. Salinas, 07/22/16, 5/5 rating

I had a great experience with John as my Bareboat instructor. His boat, Alethea, was the perfect yacht to learn on, as well as gain knowledge and confidence.

Kevin M.Hayden ID

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Powning, 07/19/16, 5/5 rating

The two-day course was great fun and I came away wanting to get right back on the water! Thanks!

Linda W.Portland OR

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Powning, 07/19/16, 5/5 rating

Nat was an amazing instructor- I was lucky to benefit from his incredible knowledge. He is an amazing asset for Island Sailing. I will recommend him highly.

Ismail P.Portland OR

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Powning, 07/18/16, 5/5 rating

Nat at Island Sailing Club was an excellent instructor. He was very good at adjusting the lesson to the conditions and the learning style of the class members. He used down time to teach knots and other practical skills. I would definitely take another class with Nat.

Marie T.Portland OR

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Powning, 07/17/16, 5/5 rating

Fantastic!

Dede P.Portland OR

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Frankland, 07/26/16, 4.8/5 rating

First impressions mean a lot when it comes to something like sailing. Stephen has both a passion and a deep knowledge of sailing, and as a student his enthusiasm was contagious. His class included a great blend of theory and quality hands on learning. I cannot thank him enough for the great experience.

Brian S.Portland OR

Bareboat Course, Capt. Salinas, 07/04/16, 5/5 rating

Captain John was wonderful and so much fun to sail and learn with. My wife and I had a great time sailing and gaining confidence.

Dan G.Bend OR

Bareboat Course, Capt. Somervell, 06/29/15, 5/5 rating

Allan is an excellent instructor, and very knowledgeable. Training was fun and interesting.

John H.Aurora OR

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Frankland, 06/21/16, 5/5 rating

His focus on safety was especially great. I think he taught us many things that others might have glossed over, such as repeated practice on Man Overboard, how to “heave to”, anchoring, taking us out to observe a channel marker.

Christie F.Vancouver WA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Frankland, 06/19/16, 5/5 rating

Excellent Sailor and Teacher! Great patience and enthusiasm.

Jim J.Portland OR

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Brannan, 06/16/16, 4.8/5 rating

AJ is a great instructor and very pleasant individual. He takes time as an instructor to ensure the topics taught are understood by the students and that you have plenty of hand on experience to practice what you’ve learned in theory. Fantastic weekend sailing with him! The boats are in fact very well maintained, but some could use a hull cleaning below the waterline.

George C.Kirkland WA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Brannan, 06/11/16, 5/5 rating

AJ was very skilled and knowledgeable. He was clear, organized and patient. He was on top of the wind forecast and adjusted our class schedule so we could be on the water when the conditions allowed for great sailing. He also had good tips on learning and remembering key concepts and techniques. We had fun and learned a lot.

Ernesto C.USA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Frankland, 06/05/16, 5/5 rating

Awesome class. I look forward to more of them.

Nick B.Fairview OR

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Somervell, 05/31/16, 5/5 rating

Alan Somervell was an excellent instructor that was able to break down difficult concepts for beginners like myself. He was patient and taught us what we needed to learn to be safe on the water. I am confident to go out on my own.

Steven P.USA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Somervell, 05/31/16, 5/5 rating

Allen was a great instructor. He had patience and was very knowledgeable about the boat the area everything. He is also a brave man being out there with some rookies and he got us all back safe. Thanks island sailing

Tony S.USA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Powning, 05/30/16, 4.8/5 rating

Couldn’t have asked for a better instructor. Provided very constructive lessons without being overly critical. We did not always have ideal wind conditions… so appreciated the extra time and attention given… we were able to cover all of the practical components in the end. Thanks Nat!

Larry S.Portland OR

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Frankland, 05/29/16, 5/5 rating

Stephen was a great instructor!

Josephine D.USA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Frankland, 05/25/16, 4.8/5 rating

Stephen was a very knowledge, patient and excellent instructor. I recommend him highly.

Patrick B.USA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Brannan, 05/20/16, 4.6/5 rating

Evan F.USA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Brannan, 05/19/16, 4.6/5 rating

It was an absolute pleasure learning to sail with Aj! He was very patient and made the whole class feel very comfortable and confident in their ability. I would definitely recommend this course!

Jake A.Centralia WA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Brannan, 05/13/16, 4.2/5 rating

Had a great time on the water. Thanks AJ!

Krissy P.Bellevue WA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Frankland, 05/12/16, 4.6/5 rating

Sherry B.Portland OR

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Brannan, 05/10/16, 4.4/5 rating

james B.USA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Frankland, 05/10/16, 5/5 rating

Stephen is an ideal instructor. He taught us all of the basic sailing techniques and encouraged each student to take on increasing responsibility for the vessel. He has a great deal of boating experience that helped us to gain a better understanding of waterway rules, boating safety and communication skillsn necessary to Skipper a sailboat. It was a great course, and I feel confident in the foundation that we set in the Skipper course.

Alia H.Forest Grove OR

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Frankland, 05/08/16, 5/5 rating

While taking the lessons Stephen explained the situation and showed the results if done correctly or incorrectly. He encouraged you to work towards being the best that you can be and he didn’t get impatient when you didn’t quite achieve what he wanted you to accomplish. In his teaching he showed both visually and verbally how to sail and to manage the crew to keep them and yourself safe. He didn’t mind showing it more than once and answered questions showing all of the knowledge he has had in past experiences in his sailing life. He made sure that all of the students had equal time to make the best of the lesson time out on the water and in the classroom. You could tell that he wanted to teach so that sailing would be fun and not stressful. I would take lessons from him again and also tell others what a good instructor he is. Thank you.

Elaine G.Portland OR

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Brannan, 04/29/16, 4.8/5 rating

Richard H.USA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Powning, 04/25/16, 5/5 rating

Nat is a great instructor!

Jeff B.Scappoose OR

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Brannan, 04/21/16, 5/5 rating

AJ is easy-going with tremendous sailing experience. I had a great time learning sailing. AJ was friendly and set-up the a great learning atmosphere for everyone.

Idi M.Olympia WA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Frankland, 04/18/16, 4.8/5 rating

Stephen was enthusiastic, friendly, knowledgeable, encouraging and competent. Nothing but the best things to say about him as a teacher! He has me very excited to get out on the water!

Dylan B.Portland OR

Basic Cruising Course, Capt. Frankland, 04/12/16, 5/5 rating

Very capable and competent skipper and instructor. Enthusiasm for sailing and introducing others to it is inspiring.

Chris K.Burbank WA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Frankland, 04/06/16, 5/5 rating

Martha S.Tigard OR

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Frankland, 4/6/16, 5/5 rating

Stephen has a true passion for sailing and he’s excited to share his knowledge with his students. He is very concerned with the students experience and learning and he goes in depth to explain everything in great detail and add stories and situations for a full understanding and learning experience. I would highly recommend Stephen to anyone wanting to learn how to sail.

Terri L.Tigard OR

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Frankland, 04/05/16, 4.8/5 rating

Christopher B.Portland OR

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Frankland, 04/03/16, 5/5 rating

An amazing day …, looking forward to greater proficiency!

Tom S.Tigard OR

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Frankland, 03/26/16, 5/5 rating

A great sailing instructor! Very knowledgeable and knows how to make it understandable. Highly recommended.

Larry P.Portland OR

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Frankland, 03/18/16, 4.8/5 rating

Jonalan P.Center WA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Frankland, 03/17/16, 4.8/5 rating

Stephen is a fantastic instructor. Very good at explaining and demonstrating the essentials to our group. He clearly has a passion for sailing and is so personable in sharing history and sailing etiquette. I would also add he really has a natural gift of being able to teach effectively and unending patients. Thanks you so much Stephen!!

Robin V.Vancouver WA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Frankland, 03/16/16, 5/5 rating

Mark A.Ridgefield WA

Qualified Crew, Capt. Frankland, 03/16/16, 5/5 rating

Had a great time, learned a lot, not quite as scared as I was.

Jeanne A.Ridgefield WA

ISC Club Member, 06/01/15, 5/5 rating

Island Sailing  has done a great job training us with an emphasis on safety and seamanship. Through our membership, we have been able to sail on the Columbia River, the Willamette River, and the Puget Sound…. A friendly and knowledgeable staff combined with a nice selection of boats in the Puget Sound and Portland locations makes Island Sailing the ideal place to gain or maintain your sailing skills…. The foundational sailing skills obtained have given us the ability to sail, charter, teach and ultimately gave us the confidence to purchase our own boat.

SeanPortland OR

ISC Club Member, 11/01/15, 5/5 rating

We’ve been members of the Island Sailing Club for several years. The staff are great, the boats are pretty good and the price is cheap. $184 a month, to take out a boat that you don’t have to do any upkeep on. Their classes are a good deal too. We sail most weekends and also go to their semi-annual formals and their dock parties are terrific too.

DanKirkland WA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Somervell, 11/25/15, 5/5 rating

Just finished the basic keelboat class. Good instructors and equipment. Very thorough training. Some in class had no prior sailing experience and were comfortable at the helm in two days. With Island you can go from landlubber to sailor in a week-end! Club rates are good too. Highly recommend them.

AnonymousUSA

ISC Club Member, 09/01/15, 5/5 rating

Happy 20th Dieter: Hi Alan, I just saw that my first certification from ISC was dated 7-94. How cool is that!? It speaks a lot of the quality of ISC, and especially the excellence of the people who work there! Since the beginning it has been a huge pleasure to be part of ISC, and I have always appreciated the awesome instructions, the technical assistance, and the countless perks I had received over the years! I am very fortunate to have made so many friends among the sailing community, mostly through the Club! My heartfelt “Thank You!” to all of you! 

Dieter W.Vancouver WA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Somervell, 09/09/15, 5/5 rating

I had my first sailing lessons here.  I was joining a friend and flying in from LAX and ended up arriving much later than expected.  They gave me a crash course while everyone else was out on the boats which I thought went above and beyond their job duties.  The instructors are really fun, knowledgeable, and just general pleasures to be around.  I was really nervous at first but they just made everything so relaxed.  I didnt pass because I wasnt able to get a hold of the book until I got there.  (I’m the type that needs to study).  Good thing is you can retake it which I will be when I’m in Portland again soon!  I would actually retake the class if I had to because it was a lot of fun!  It really is like learning a new language.  Oh also, they the most adorable cat mascot which made me super happy lol.

Rochalle R.Los Angeles WA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Somervell, 08/26/15, 5/5 rating

I had a great time in the basic keelboat course. Alan and Paul are excellent instructors, they are both very patient and really enjoyed every aspect of the class. I feel I have been given some very good tools to add to my sailing tool  kit and I’m eager to get back on the water with my local sailing group in Idaho to put them into practice.

RickyPortland OR

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Somervell, 08/26/15, 5/5 rating

What a great weekend I have to thank the ‘boys’ at Island Sailing Club In Portland… for running a top notch casually fun facility. I learned so much and had so much fun this weekend. Who knows what doors this first step will lead to.

Carlos F.Seattle WA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Sammons, 08/15/16, 4.9/5 rating

Thank you Island Sailing Club, and especially Paul Sammons, my first ASA sailing course was such a success! Clearly passionate about sailing and infinitely patient, Paul was an excellent instructor.  He was eloquent in his descriptions and took time to answer all my questions. I would gladly sail with Paul and Island Sailing Club again!

Kristen L.USA

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Cahen, 07/26/16, 5/5 rating

Just wanted to say that Darroch Cohan is an outstanding instructor. 3rd generation sailor, good stories, knowledgeable and fun to learn from. Reignited my interest. Can’t say enough about this guy.

Dennis P.Portland OR

Basic Sailing Course, Capt. Somervell, 06/29/15, 5/5 rating

Alan is an excellent instructor, and very knowledgeable. Training was fun and interesting.

John H.Portland OR

ISC Club Member, 08/01/13, 4/5 rating

We’ve been members of the Island Sailing Club for several years. The staff are great, the boats are pretty good and the price is cheap. $184 a month, to take out a boat that you don’t have to do any upkeep on. Their classes are a good deal too. We sail most weekends and also go to their semi-annual formals and their dock parties are terrific too. The boats are pretty basic, but they work well.

Bridget P.Portland OR